Ensemble

A great musical pleasure is guaranteed when these six charismatic gentlemen enter the stage and the ensemble´s very own pianist takes his place at the grand piano. Each of them an indivdual vocal gem, but together they form a unique vocal ensemble with a distinctive, captivating sound- spontaneous, engaging and full of energy.

  • Johannes Euler

    "To share international stages with these five wonderful musicians und to present an enormous bandwidth of ensemble repertoire is one of the most amazing parts of my life as a singer.“

    The Countertenor Johannes Euler is a member of the Singphoniker since 2014 and works on top of that as freelance singer.
    He studied singing at Hochschule for Music, Theatre and Media in Hannover with Ralf popken until 2016. He perfected his craft in masterclasses with Michael Chance (Countertenor), Evelyn Tubb (Soprano) and Maria Husmann (stage acting, contemporary music).
    He gave his operatic debut in 2013 in Georg Philipp Telemann´s “Der aus der Löwengrube errettete Daniel” (“Daniel, who was saved from the lion´s den”) at Osnabrück theatre in the roles of Arbaces and Daniel. In spring of 2015 he sang the role of Oberon in a production of the Hochschule for Music, Theatre and Media Hannover of Benjamin Britten´s “A Midsummernight´s Dream” and in September 2016 he made his debut at Staatsoper Berlin with the part of “Jörg Jannings” in the world premiere of the opera “Comeback” by Oscar Strasnoy.
    He is also a sought-after soloist on the concert stage- the alto parts of Johann Sebastian Bach´s cantatas and oratorios are in his standard repertoire as well as the larger roles in Georg Friedrich Handel´s oratorios.
    With the Singphoniker he has recorded succesful CDs and has toured Europe as well as Taiwan and Japan.

  • Daniel Schreiber

    "The Singphoniker have become my musical family. To push the boundaries of what is achievable for the human voice with like-minded colleagues - regardless which genre or what era - is the fulfillment of a lifelong dream for me.“

    The Tenor Daniel Schreiber is an internationally acclaimed soloist and ensemble singer. Exceptional vocal abilities pairedf with musical empathy make him a most welcome guest with the radio choirs of BR and SWR (Munich and Stuttgart).
    His passion is baroque music. Important pillars of his artistic agenda- apart from singing the evangelist parts in Bach´s great oratorios- are frequent collaborations with “Ensemble Stimmkunst” in the “Bach:vokal” concert series in Stuttgart as well as concerts with La Chapelle Rhénane and projects with La petite Bande.
    Openness and curiosity are characteristics of this tenor´s musical approach. Important impulses came from his teachers Prof. Bruce Abel and Prof. Francisco Araiza with whom he studied at the “Staatliche Hochschule für Musik und darstellende Kunst” Stuttgart. His majors were voice and organ.
    His versatility and reliabilty are highly appreciated by renowned conductors such as Marcus Creed, Sigiswald Kuijken, Peter Dijkstra, Benoît Haller or Frieder Bernius.
    Singing in choirs and ensembles has accompanied Daniel Schreiber since his early childhood. Groundbreaking foundations for his desire to become a professional singer were laid in the choirs of his school “Max-Slevogt-Gymnasium” in Landau, the “Evangelische Jugendkantorei der Pfalz” and the vocal ensemble at Stuttgart music university, “Circus Musicus”.
    In 2009, he joined the renowned vocal ensemble the Singphoniker and fulfilled a lifelong dream.

  • Henning Jensen

    "Our excited curiosity is pushing us to peak performances, always with the goal of entertaining our audiences in a charming way. In now eight years as member of the Singphoniker the words "routine" or "boredom" are simply not in the vocabulary. Engagement, best entertainment and originality - that´s what we stand for!“

    Tenor Henning Jensen received his first musical education in the Stuttgart boy´s choir “collegium iuvenum”. Already during his studies of the main subjects voice and Lied with professors Bernhard Jaeger-Böhm and Cornelis Witthoeft he became a member of the renowned vocal ensemble the Singphoniker in early 2009. Even then, he was already an active performer as soloist and ensemble singer in numerous concerts at home and abroad. Being a regular guest with europe´s most outstanding choirs and vocal ensembles such as Kammerchor Stuttgart or the radio choirs of SWR and BR (Stuttgart and Munich), the frequent collaborations with conductors such as Mariss Jansons, Andris Nelsons, Riccardo Muti, Marcus Creed or Frieder Bernius enrich his musical career.
    Numerous CD recordings document the great bandwidth and versatility of his work.

  • Michael Mantaj

    "It´s crazy - after now 16 years of being a member of the Singphoniker, there´s still happening so many exciting and deeply gratifying things. The constant exchange and the communication with our audiences, with concert organizers and amongst ourselves, motivates and pushes us - the Singphoniker to absolute peak performances - all over the world."

    The Bass-baritone Michael Mantaj was a member of Regensburger Domspatzen and has felt at home mostly in ensemble and choir singing since that time. Already during his voice studies in Munich he made a name for himself as a member of numerous professional vocal ensembles such as the “Deutsche Bachvokalisten”, the Collegium vocale Gent and Kammerchor Stuttgart. Michael Mantaj is a member of the “Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks” (bavarian radio choir) Munich and has thus collaborated with the most renowned conductors of our time.
    He made an equally remarkable career as a soloist. Apart from his extensive touring schedule as Lied- and oratorio singer, under the baton of the likes of Ulf Schirmer, Enoch zu Guttenberg, Thomas Hengelbrock, Kent Nagano or Valery Gergiev he is equally active on the opera stage, in a great number of roles.
    Since the year 2000 Michael Mantaj is member of one of the world´s leading male vocal ensembles: the Singphoniker.

  • Christian Schmidt

    "To create this intimate connection to the audiences and to my singphonic colleagues in every single moment of singing on the stages of this world, it´s what makes the music unique and it´s a forte of this ensemble. So seemingly easy, if it succeeds - so hard to achieve if you´re trying to force it and so rewarding when you´re experiencing it as it occurs.“

    Born in Regensburg, Germany, Christian discovored his voice together with his love for music at home and in church choir. Following high school he studied music education and singing at the Staatliche Hochschule für Musik München.

    Presentation of music, interpretation and educational mediation occupy his attention equally strong. The whole stylistic range of contemporary music as well as a well-founded retrospective on music history naturally make up a large part of a singer of his generation.

    Because of his vast experience he has built a long-lasting international career as performer as well as teacher, in which he has shared the stage with numerous internationally acclaimed artists and ensembles. More than 50 CD recordings, many and the most important of which with the world renowned vocal ensemble the Singphoniker, are equal testament to both his musical quality as well as his stylistic bandwidth. As a long-standing guest Christian Maria Schmidt has been succesful at the “Münchner Staatsthater am Gärtnerplatz”. With musical partners such as Berno Scharpf or Markus Poschner colorful Lieder projects are realized in numerous concerts.

    Already in his time as college student in Munich he sarted teaching singing. Among others he tought at the Hochschule Mozarteum in Innsbruck and the Hochschule für Musik Augsburg. In Autumn 2004 he was appointed professor for singing at the HfKM Regensburg.

    Christian Maria Schmidt is the last remaining active founding member of the Singphoniker.

  • Berno Scharpf

    "This is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity - to be a part of the Singphoniker as a pianist and accompany and support them with my instrument. Especially because the Singphoniker are the only ensemble of this kind to include their very own pianist in the lineup.“

    Chamber music is his metier. Especially in the piano trio setup and in Lied recitals is where pianist Berno Scharpf feels most at home.
    Being the vocal ensemble the Singphoniker´s pianist since 1990 he has since toured Europe, the USA, Africa and Asia.
    He teaches piano, organ, violin and chamber music at a high school and serves as accompanist for pupils and students during exams.
    When he was still a student, he already had various opportunities to perform both as a soloist as well as an ensemble player. After he graduated High School he studied to become a teacher at “Staatliche Hochschule für Musik” Munich with Erik Then-Bergh and Rolf Koenen and subsequentially piano solo with Maria Landes-Hindemith.

Das Ensemble

Ein musikalisches Vergnügen ist garantiert, wenn die sechs charismatischen Herren die Bühne betreten und der ensembleeigene Pianist am Flügel Platz nimmt. Jeder Einzelne von Ihnen ein sängerischer Brillant, gemeinsam bilden sie ein einzigartiges Vokalensemble mit einem unverwechselbar bestechenden Sound – spontan, mitreißend und voller Energie.

  • Johannes Euler

    „Mit diesen fünf wunderbaren Musikern auf internationalen Bühnen zu stehen und eine enorme Bandbreite an Ensemble-Literatur zu präsentieren, gehört für mich zu den schönsten Momenten meines Sängerlebens.“

    Der Countertenor Johannes Euler ist seit 2014 Mitglied der Singphoniker und darüber hinaus als freiberuflicher Sänger tätig.

    Er studierte bis 2016 Gesang an der Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien Hannover bei Ralf Popken. Ergänzt wurde sein Studium durch Meisterkurse bei Michael Chance (Countertenor), Evelyn Tubb (Sopran) und Maria Husmann (Schauspiel, zeitgenössische Musik).

    Sein Operndebüt gab Johannes Euler 2013 in Georg Philipp Telemanns „Der aus der Löwengrube errettete Daniel“ am Theater Osnabrück. In einer Produktion der Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien Hannover sang er im Frühjahr 2015 die Rolle des Oberon im Sommernachtstraum von Benjamin Britten. Im September 2016 gab er sein Debüt an der Staatsoper Berlin mit der Partie des Jörg Jannings in der Uraufführung der Oper „Comeback“ von Oscar Strasnoy.

    Auch im Konzert-Fach ist Johannes Euler ein gefragter Solist – neben dem barocken Repertoire seines Fachs, wie z.B. den Kantaten und Oratorien von Johann Sebastian Bach und Georg Friedrich Händel gilt sein besonderes Interesse der modernen Musik – was sich durch inzwischen zahlreiche für ihn komponierte Uraufführungen bemerkbar macht.

    Mit den Singphonikern hat er erfolgreiche CDs produziert und Konzertreisen ins europäische Ausland, sowie nach Taiwan und Japan unternommen.

  • Daniel Schreiber

    „Die Singphoniker sind zu meiner musikalischen Familie geworden. Hier mit Gleichgesinnten die Grenzen des stimmlich Machbaren auszuloten, ohne Scheu vor Genre oder Epoche, bedeutet für mich die Erfüllung eines Lebenstraumes.“

    Der Tenor Daniel Schreiber ist international ein gefragter Solist und Ensemblesänger.

    Herausragende stimmliche Fähigkeiten, gepaart mit musikalischem Einfühlungsvermögen, machen ihn zu einem gern gesehenen Gast bei den Rundfunkchören des SWR und des BR. Seine Leidenschaft gilt der Musik der Barockzeit. Bedeutende Stationen seiner künstlerischen Tätigkeit sind neben den Evangelistenpartien der großen Oratorien Johann Sebastian Bachs auch regelmäßige Auftritte mit dem Ensemble Stimmkunst im Rahmen der Reihe Bach:vokal in Stuttgart, Konzerte mit La Chapelle Rhénane sowie Projekte mit La Petite Bande.

    Offenheit und Neugier prägen das musikalische Wirken des Tenors. Wichtige Impulse erhält er während des Studiums der Fächer Schulmusik und Gesang an der staatlichen Hochschule für Musik und darstellende Kunst von seinen Lehrern Prof. Bruce Abel und Prof. Francisco Araiza. Seine Vielseitigkeit und Stilsicherheit wird von Dirigenten wie Marcus Creed, Sigiswald Kuijken, Peter Dijkstra, Benoît Haller und Frieder Bernius geschätzt.

    Das Singen im Chor- und Ensemble begleitet Daniel Schreiber seit frühester Kindheit. Wegweisende Weichen wurden im Chor des Max-Slevogt-Gymnasiums Landau, der evangelischen Jugendkantorei der Pfalz und dem Hochschulvokalensemble Circus Musicus in Stuttgart gestellt.

    Seit 2009 singt Daniel Schreiber bei dem renommierten Vokalensemble Die Singphoniker.

  • Henning Jensen

    „Unsere lebendige Neugier motiviert uns zu immer neuen Höchstleistungen, mit dem Ziel, unser Publikum charmant zu unterhalten. In nunmehr acht Jahren als Mitglied der Singphoniker sind mir Routine und Langeweile ein Fremdwort. Engagement, beste Unterhaltung und Originalität - dafür stehen die Singphoniker.“

    Seine erste musikalische Ausbildung erhielt der Tenor Henning Jensen im Knabenchor collegium iuvenum Stuttgart. Noch während des Studiums der Fächer Gesang und Lied bei Prof. Bernhard Jaeger-Böhm und Prof. Cornelis Witthoefft wurde er Anfang 2009 festes Mitglied des renommierten Vokalensembles Die Singphoniker, und konnte zu diesem Zeitpunkt bereits auf eine rege Konzerttätigkeit als Solist und im Ensemble im In- und Ausland zurückblicken. Als ständiger Gast bei den herausragendsten europäischen Chören und Vokalensembles, wie dem Kammerchor Stuttgart oder den Rundfunkchören des SWR und BR, ist die Zusammenarbeit mit Dirigenten wie Mariss Jansons, Andris Nelsons, Riccardo Muti, Marcus Creed oder Frieder Bernius eine Bereicherung seines musikalischen Werdegangs. Zahlreiche CD-Einspielungen belegen seine große Bandbreite und die Vielseitigkeit seiner Arbeit.

  • Michael Mantaj

    „Wahnsinn - nach nunmehr 16 Jahren als Mitglied der Singphoniker geschieht noch immer so viel spannendes und zutiefst beglückendes. Der stete Austausch und die Kommunikation mit unserem Publikum, mit Veranstaltern und untereinander führt uns, die Singphoniker, zu absoluten Spitzenleistungen - und das weltweit.“

    Der Bass-Bariton Michael Mantaj war Mitglied bei den Regensburger Domspatzen und fühlt sich seit dieser Zeit besonders im Ensemble- wie auch im Chorgesang beheimatet.

    Bereits während seines Gesangsstudiums in München hat er als Mitglied zahlreicher professioneller Vokalensembles wie beispielsweise den Deutschen Bachvokalisten, dem Collegium Vocale Gent und dem Kammerchor Stuttgart auf sich aufmerksam gemacht. Der Sänger ist Mitglied im Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks und durfte dort im Laufe der Jahre mit den großen Dirigenten unserer Zeit zusammenarbeiten.

    Auch als Solist legt der Bass-Bariton eine beachtliche Karriere hin. Neben seiner umfangreichen Konzerttätigkeit als Lied- und Oratoriensänger unter Dirigenten wie Ulf Schirmer, Enoch zu Guttenberg, Thomas Hengelbrock, Kent Nagano oder Valery Gergiev ist er gleichermaßen auf der Opernbühne zu erleben – und dieses in zahlreichen Rollen seines Fachs.

    Seit dem Jahr 2000 ist Michael Mantaj Mitglied eines der weltweit führenden Vokalensembles: der Singphoniker.

  • Christian Schmidt

    „In jedem Moment des Singens auf den Podien dieser Welt jene innige Verbindung zum Publikum und zu meinen singphonischen Kollegen schaffen, die Musik so einzigartig macht und eine große Stärke der Singphoniker ist. So einfach, wenn es gelingt - so schwierig zu erreichen, wenn man es erzwingen will - so beglückend, wenn man es erlebt.“

    Der gebürtige Regensburger entdeckte seine Stimme zusammen mit der Liebe für die Musik beim häuslichen Musizieren und im Kirchenchor. Dem Abitur folgten musikalische Studien an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Musik in München mit Abschlüssen in den Fächern Schulmusik und Sologesang.

    Musikalische Darstellung, sängerische Interpretation und pädagogische Vermittlung beschäftigen ihn bis heute gleichermaßen intensiv. Auch die Auseinandersetzung mit der ganzen stilistischen Breite zeitgenössischer Musikrichtungen und die fundierte Rückschau auf die Musikgeschichte gehören selbstverständlich zu einem Sänger seiner Generation.

    Bis heute erfreut er sich an einer reichen und langjährigen internationalen Konzert- und Lehrtätigkeit, wobei er mit zahlreichen international renommierten Künstlern und Ensembles auf der Bühne stand. Mehr als fünfzig CD-Einspielungen – viele und die wichtigsten davon mit den Singphonikern – dokumentieren seine musikalische Qualität wie stilistische Breite. Als langjähriger Gast reüssierte Christian Maria Schmidt am Münchner Staatstheater am Gärtnerplatz. Mit musikalischen Partnern wie Berno Scharpf oder Markus Poschner verwirklichte er zahlreiche Liedprojekte.
    Schon während des Studiums beginnt er zu unterrichten. Er war unter anderem Dozent für Gesang an der Hochschule Mozarteum in Innsbruck und an der Hochschule für Musik in Augsburg. Im Herbst 2004 wurde er zum Professor für Gesang an die HfKM-Regensburg berufen.

    Christian Maria Schmidt ist heute das einzige noch aktive Gründungsmitglied der Singphoniker.

  • Berno Scharpf

    „Diese Chance bekommt man nur einmal im Leben - als Pianist ein Teil der Singphoniker zu sein und die Sänger unterstützend begleiten zu dürfen. Ganz Besonders, weil die Singphoniker das einzige Ensemble dieser Formation sind, die ihren eigenen Pianisten haben.“

    Kammermusik ist sein Metier. Speziell im Klavier-Trio und bei Liederabenden fühlt sich der Pianist Berno Scharpf beheimatet.

    Als Pianist im Vokalensemble Die Singphoniker reist er seit 1990 durch Europa, die USA, Afrika und Asien.

    Er unterrichtet am Gymnasium Klavier, Orgel und Violine, sowie Kammermusik und dient Studenten und Schülern als Korrepetitor bei Prüfungen.

    Bereits als Schüler hat der Pianist reichlich Gelegenheit, in Veranstaltungen solistisch wie auch kammermusikalisch aufzutreten. Nach dem Abitur studiert er Klavier bei Maria Landes-Hindemith, während des Schulmusik-Studiums an der Musikhochschule München bei Erik Then-Bergh und Rolf Koenen.